FIFA 2022: First-time host Qatar

FIFA Qatar

The International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) was founded in 1904, it currently has a membership of 211 national associations, headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland, and run by the law of Switzerland. The international association has its flag, logo, and anthem. FIFA world cup is held every fourth year and has been delayed once only during World War II. The last FIFA world cup was held in 2018, hosted by Russia, but now Russia has been banned by the World Anti-Doping Agency to participate in any world championships. Qatar is going to host the 22nd FIFA men’s world cup this year, which is scheduled to be held from 21st November to 18th December.

First Arab Nation to host the FIFA World Cup-

Qatar is going to be the first Arab country in the world to host the FIFA world cup. Due to the scorching heat of the desert country, the world cup is for the first time being held in November-December instead of May-June, and also the timeframe is reduced to 28 days. Countries bid to host the FIFA world cup, for both the 2018 and 2022 world cup, bidding started in 2009, and among the five bidders for 2022 (Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, and the US) Qatar was awarded to host the 2022 world cup.

Qatar will try to reciprocate the country’s cultural and historical aspects through this international event. The stadiums will be taking certain measures and will be equipped with cooling systems to reduce the extreme heat for the comfort of teams and the audience. The Arab country also aspires to get certified by the Global Sustainability Assessment System (GSAS) for all the stadiums in which matches will be held. Due to strict homosexuality rules, it has been questioned about the discrimination against LGBTQ rights of world cup players, at which the response of Qatar officials was a complete assurance of no discrimination against LGBTQ players. 

Countries and Groups-

There will be eight groups (A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and H). All the matches will be played in eight different stadiums. Each group comprises four teams each, which makes a total of 32 teams and 64 matches to be played in the world cup 2022. The opening match will be played in Al Bayt stadium and the finals will be played in Lusail stadium. Four teams would play quarter-finals, then two winners from that will play semi-finals, and the final will be played among two deciding a winner. France won the last 2018 FIFA world championship.

Mascot and Match ball-

The official mascot of the 2022 world championship was unveiled in April 2022, named “La’eeb”, which means- “Super-skilled player”. The match ball was also unveiled a month before in March 2022, it was named “Al Rihla”, and is inspired by the country’s culture, flag, architecture, and iconic boat. Al Rihla means “the journey”, and it is the first ball to be made of water glues and ink entirely, keeping in mind sustainability as a priority.


The 2022 FIFA men’s international tournament would be hosted on FOX Sports an English language channel and Telemundo a Spanish language channel globally. In India, Sony Six and Sony Six HD will be broadcasting live coverage of the World Cup 2022. Other than that, several live streaming channels like YouTube TV, Peacock TV, Sling TV, etc. will be streaming all the matches live.

Comment here