Nobel Prize 2022 in Medicine

Nobel Prize 2022 in Medicine

Nobel Prize, according to Alfred Nobel’s will, who was a Swedish chemist, industrialist, and engineer known for his exceptional invention of dynamite, is given to “those who, during the preceded year, has been conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.” The Nobel Week opened in Stockholm on October 3rd with the first prize in the category of Medicine, it will be followed by Physics on Tuesday, Chemistry on Wednesday, and Literature on Thursday. The only Nobel prize, that is, the Nobel Peace Prize which is announced in Oslo instead of Stockholm will be given on Friday of this week and the economics one will be announced on October 10th.

This year’s Nobel Prize is announced amid the shadows and tension of the Russia-Ukraine war. Also, The Nobel Prize in Medicine comes at a time when in previous years of the pandemic, medical research has been at center stage.

This year’s Nobel Prize in Medicine is won by Swedish Scientist Svante Paabo for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution. This is pioneering research by the scientist in physiology and medicine. His research established a groundbreaking discovery about how archaic gene sequences from our extinct relatives influence the physiology of present-day humans.

Through his research, Svante Paabo created an entirely new scientific discipline. He sequenced the genome of Neanderthal, an extinct ancestor of present-day humans, doing this he accomplished something which was earlier impossible. Along with that he also made the sensational discovery of a previously unknown hominin, Denisova.

What the Nobel Prize carries?

The Nobel Prize carries a cash reward of 10 million Swedish kronor, which is approximately 900,000 USD. This money comes from the inheritance left by Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895. The prize money will be given on December 10th. Second, comes the Gold Medal and a Diploma. The prize can have more than one recipient but not more than three, though, the Nobel Peace Prize can be awarded to an organization of more than three people.

                                                                                                                         -Mansi Singh

Comment here